Emma L. Conlon Service Awards (Contest for Z and Golden Z clubs)

Award Description

Established in 1962 at the Zonta International Convention in New Orleans, Lousiana, USA, the Emma L. Conlon Service Award is a contest for Z clubs and Golden Z clubs. Named in honor of Past International President, Emma L. Conlon, who graciously underwrote the Award for Zonta International, the Emma L. Conlon Service Awards recognize those clubs whose projects and programs best express the ideals of Zonta International through local and international service and advocacy to advance the status of women worldwide. First place clubs receive US$1,000; second place clubs receive US$500; and third place clubs receive US$250. The award money is to be used for the club’s service projects.


Z clubs and Golden Z clubs who have performed service projects in each of the three categories:

·       School Service
·       Community Service
·       International Service

Application Process

After receiving the approval (signature) of the sponsoring Zonta club president, Z clubs and Golden Z clubs submit applications to Zonta International Headquarters. The Zonta International Z and Golden Z Club Committee recommends six recipients (first, second and third place for both the Z clubs and Golden Z clubs) to the Zonta International Board of Directors in the month of June. During this same month, the Zonta International Board approves the international recipients.

2015 Deadline

All application materials must be received by 30 April 2015. Applications that are incomplete or late due to postal delays, transmittal by third parties, or other circumstances will not be considered. Submit a completed application to: Zonta International Headquarters, Attn: Martina Gamboa, Programs Coordinator, 1211 West 22nd Street, Suite 900, Oak Brook, Illinois 60523 or via email to programs@zonta.org.